Georgia Dugout Club honorees

Posted 1/14/17

MARIETTA -- Adam Cantrell tried as hard as he could could to deflect the attention.

When the Providence Christian baseball coach was presented the Ethics in Coaching Award at the Georgia Dugout Club's annual Coaches Clinic at the Hilton Marietta Hotel & Conference Center, he was humbled.

"It's certainly an honor, especially when I look at all the others who have received this award," Cantrell said. "From Doug Jones at Mill Creek to Mike Strickland at Marist, I'm surprised people in this room even know who I am."

Cantrell was presented the highest award on Friday, while the Dugout Club inducted five new members into its Hall of Fame -- Georgia State head coach Greg Frady, Harrison's Mark Elkins, Chattahoochee's Tim Lemons, Roswell's Mike Power and Savannah Christian's Carl Carter.

The Providence coach led the Storm to the Class A state championship in 2012 and a state runner-up finish in 2014. He also led Providence to the state semifinals in 2008.

"When you win Coach of the Year, Player of the Year, all region honors, you have to have horses," Cantrell said. "The thing about this award is that anybody can win it. You have to treat players, the officials and your opponents as well as the game of baseball well regardless.

"My biggest thing is that when we compete, regardless of whether we won or lost, when the other team walks off the field, they felt respected."

Power and Carter joined the Club's 500-win club last year and. Elkins guided Harrison to a state championship in 2010, while Lemons took Chattahoochee to a state championship in 2005.

Frady is the all-time winningest coach at Georgia State and took the Panthers to the NCAA Tournament in 2009.

The Dugout Club also honored its state players and coaches of the year, while presenting plaques to coaches for milestone wins.


100 Wins

Russ Bayer, South Forsyth

David Smart, LaGrange

Patrick Mayfield, Tallulah Falls

Todd Harris, Woodstock

Jason Johnson, Mountain View

Jason Brett, Houston County

200 Wins

Vince Massey, Brookstone

Stephen Phillips, Locust Grove

Erik McDougald, Thomasville

Thad Marchman, Charlton County

Todd Middleton, NW Whitfield

300 Wins

Chuck Cheek, Schley County

Todd Shelnutt, George Walton

400 Wins

Franklin Deloach, East Coweta

Jeff Segars, Loganville

Craig George, Carrollton

Jeff Rowland, Pope

Tony Wolfe, Buford

500 Wins

Carl Carter, Savannah Christian

Players and Coaches of the Year awards

Overall Players of the Year

Carter Kieboom, Walton and Joshua Lowe, Pope


Players - Zac Kristofak, Walton and Matt Rowland, Pope

Coaches - Shane Amos, Walton and Jeff Rowland, Pope


Players - Tanner Hall, Houston County and Mitchell Miller, Loganville

Coaches - Jason Brett, Houston County and Jeff Segars, Loganville

Class AAAA

Players - Ethan Lindow, Locust Grove and Brandon Marsh, Buford

Coaches - Stephen Phillips, Locust Grove and Tony Wolfe, Buford

Class AAA

Players - Rankin Woley, Westminster and Conor Davis, Blessed Trinity

Coaches - Russell Wrenn, Westminster and Andy Harlin, Blessed Trinity

Class AA

Players - Aaron Schunk, Lovett and Colin Hall, Wesleyan

Coaches - Lance Oubs, Lovett and Brian Krehmeyer, Wesleyan

Class A Public

Coach - Brent Korn, Treutlen

Player - Tristan Cone, Treutlen

Class A Private

Player - Corey Bartholomew, Tattnall Square

Coach - Joey Hiller, Tattnall Square